December 15, 2016

The Honorable Mike Pence Office of President-elect Donald Trump 1800 F Street NW Room G117 Washington, DC 20270-0117

Dear Vice President-elect Pence:

As the leaders of American businesses that are some of our nation's largest customers of freight rail service, we look forward to working with you as you consider personnel decisions in rail-related agencies. Specifically, we want to work with you to ensure that individuals that serve on the Surface Transportation Board (STB) will be committed to eliminating outdated rules and overly bureaucratic procedures that shield the rail industry from competition and impede growth in the U.S.

STB policies have a direct impact on investment decisions in the United States, as affordable and reliable rail transportation is a prerequisite for many businesses. In order to fully realize the benefits of a manufacturing renaissance, we must be sure that the STB is comprised of members that will make decisions that are based on current economic realities and founded on free market solutions.

Over the past decade, obsolete regulatory protections and an overly burdensome STB process have allowed freight rail rates to double—more than three times the rate of inflation—even though the volume of freight carried by the railroads has barely increased. At the same time, rail service has not improved. Many shippers—from factories to farms—are captive to a single railroad, and the STB has been ineffective in addressing widespread complaints about unreasonable rates and poor service.

In light of these facts, the STB's current Commissioners, Republican and Democrat alike, have acknowledged in recent written opinions that the Board's rate review process is not functioning properly. Problems at the STB were also not lost on Senate Commerce Committee Chairman John Thune when he championed STB reform legislation that won unanimous support from Congress and was signed into law last year.

To help resolve the ongoing problems at the STB, small and large businesses across the country have come together to support the adoption of reforms that will promote greater competition between railroads and improve the efficiency and effectiveness of the STB. These reforms are aligned with the pro-growth goals of your administration for many important sectors of the U.S. economy; they will help ensure that commodities, including grain, coal, fertilizer, forestry products, steel, and manufactured goods, can be shipped efficiently to both domestic and international markets.

December 15, 2016 Page 2 of 4

In the coming months, the administration will have the opportunity to appoint several new STB members, including a new Chairman. These positions are of great importance to our organizations and will have a large impact on the future of our operations. Board members must be committed to moving the STB forward instead of preserving the status quo. They also need to be fair-minded, objective and innovative when it comes to resolving freight rail issues.

We welcome further discussion with you on these issues, and look forward to working with your administration on policies that support growth across the entire U.S. economy.

Sincerely,

Rob Shama President Afton Chemical Corporation

Richard P. Rowe President & CEO Arkema Inc

Mathew Brainerd Chairman

Brainerd Chemical Company, Inc.

Markus Klaehn

President and Chief Operating Officer Brenntag North America, Inc.

Robert C. Brown President/CEO CALAMCO

W. Anthony Will President and Chief Executive Officer

CF Industries

Mark Vergnano President and CEO The Chemours Company

Craig A. Rogerson Chairman, President & CEO Chemtura Corporation John Riordan President and CEO

Ardagh Group, Glass-North America

Bradley J. Westfall

President

ASHTA Chemicals, Inc.

Mark Nikolich

CEO

Braskem America, Inc.

Doug Brown

Chief Executive Officer and President Brown Chemical Company, Inc.

Mark Rohr

Chairman & CEO

Celanese

Bob Venable President & COO Charter Manufacturing

Mark Davis

President and Chief Executive Officer

Chemtrade Logistics

Cindy Brown President

Chippewa Valley Bean Co., Inc.

December 15, 2016

Page 3 of 4

Joe Alvarado

Chairman, President & CEO

Commercial Metals Co.

Mark Pytosh

President and CEO

CVR Partners, G.P.

Andrew Liveris

Chairman and Chief Executive Officer

The Dow Chemical Company

Edward Polen

President and Chief Executive Officer

EMCO Chemical Distributors, Inc.

Peter Campo

President

Gerdau Long Steel North America

Craig O. Morrison

Chairman, President and CEO

Hexion Inc.

Dennis Seith

President & CEO

INEOS Olefins & Polymers USA

Jeffrey W. Jones

Chairman and CEO

JCI Jones Chemicals, Inc.

Scott Mayfield

President & Chief Administrative Officer

Kenco

Kendra Lee

Chairman of the Board and Chief Executive

Officer

Merichem Company

Robert L. Peterson

President

Occidental Chemical Corporation

Herman J. Haksteen

Chief Executive Officer

Cryo-Trans, Inc.

John D. Williams

President and CEO

Domtar

Edward D. Breen

Chair of the Board and Chief Executive Officer

DuPont

Marc Maseman

Chief Executive Officer and President

Florida Chemical Supply, Inc.

Kevin Mirner

Chief Executive Officer and President

Harcros Chemicals, Inc.

Rebecca B Liebert

President and CEO

Honeywell UOP

Mark S. Sutton

Chairman and Chief Executive Officer

International Paper

Justin Flaten

President and CEO

JM Grain, Inc.

Jeanette Partlow

President

Maryland Chemical Company, Inc.

Joc O'Rourke

President and Chief Executive Officer

The Mosaic Company

John E. Fischer

President and CEO

Olin Corporation

December 15, 2016

Page 4 of 4

Mark W. Kowlzan Chairman and CEO

Packaging Corporation of America

Jochen Tilk

President and CEO

PotashCorp

Clifford Otto

Chief Executive Officer

Saddle Creek Logistics Services

Mike Lacey President

Solvay America, Inc.

Randy Stephens

President

SureGrow Ag Products, Inc

Ed Dineen

Chairman, President and CEO

TPC Group

Ed Flynn President

Tronox Alkali

Mark Fenenbock

Chairman

W. Silver, Inc.

Steve Rodgers

Interim President

Yara North America, Inc.

Paul Lambert President

PL International, LLC

Richard Garneau

President and CEO

Resolute Forest Products

Mark Gardner

President and CEO

Sappi North America

Robert Andersen

Chairman and Chief Executive Officer

Superior Oil Company, Inc.

Piotr Galitzine

Chairman & CEO

TMK IPSCO

Anthony Ridnell

Founder and Chief Executive Officer

TRInternational, Inc.

Joe Gorder

Chairman, President and Chief Executive

Officer

Valero Energy Corporation

Brad Hilleary

Chief Executive Officer

Webb Chemical Service Corp.